THE INFERNAL DEVICES ARE WITHOUT PITY.
THE INFERNAL DEVICES ARE WITHOUT REGRET.
THE INFERNAL DEVICES ARE WITHOUT NUMBER.
THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING.

Why must you hurt me so? You are so very beautiful and so very addictive. Oh, but the pain; the tears; the heartbreak!

My synopsis: 
Mortmain’s army of Infernal Devices is ready. The automatons will destroy the Shadowhunters. When he kidnaps Tessa, the two loves of her life will do anything to save her and fight the Devices in the process.  Love and loss fill the trilogy’s conclusion.

(Non-spoiler) Review:
Yeah, I knew how the series would end, of course (I read The Mortal Instruments beforehand) but it still hurt. If you follow me on Instagram you’ll know how much I love Cassandra Clare (well, love her books). Each and every one of her books is a gift to the world. So the chance of me not liking Clockwork Princess was… well, non-existent. And of every book in this universe, this was the one that hurt me the most. BUT IN A GOOD WAY! This made me feel the most. It was the most engaging and gripping. It was the book that made me love the characters the most and made me care about their well-being the most.

(Spoiler) Review:

Whether you ship Jessa or Wessa, you’re happy. That’s what makes this book so great. Two canon ships both sail despite the fact it seemed unlikely they could. Personally, I think Jessa is the greater couple. Jem deserves every happiness and, consequently, deserves Tessa. But I can totally see how Wessa fans came to be. Will sacrificed so much in the past, he earned Tessa’s love and more. In all honesty, at times Tessa, Jem and Will bordered on an OT3. I didn’t think I could ever have an OT3. I didn’t think that love like that could exist. But I think Herongraystairs has persuaded me otherwise.

“They say you cannot love two people equally at once […] perhaps for others that is so. But you and Will—you are not like two ordinary people […] who would have imagined my love for one of them diminished by my love of the other. […] I could not have loved Will so much if I had not loved you as well. And I could not love you as I do if I had not loved Will as I did.”

Taking Tessa out the picture, there is no (platonic) love stronger than that between Jem and Will and I will fight you on that. If I ever get a friend who loves me the way theses two loved each other, I will consider my life well-lived.

I liked:

  • Jem – there is no doubt that James Carstairs was the highlight of the book for me. Should Jem show up on my doorstep, I would undoubtedly fall in love with him.Who wouldn’t? He is so amazing. So pure and cute. And what happened to him… well I’m not sure how I feel about that. It was for the best, of course. I was flooded with emotions at each goodbye. I don’t normally cry at fiction but I bawled at the goodbyes.
  • The epilogue – I was over the moon with the ending. My only issue – why does Tessa get to have her cake and eat it too? I wish I was lucky enough to have two men love me and love those two men back. Despite my envy, I’m happy for her and both men.

I didn’t like:

  • The love triangle – this isn’t specific to Clockwork Princess. I just hate love triangles. I don’t want someone to end up unhappy. I’m a sucker for a happily ever after.
  • Unnecessary detail – there were times that I thought things were being said just to fill the page; times that I felt like certain things added nothing to the story – nor did they interest me.
  • What Will and Tessa got up to at Mortmain’s – seriously?!? Was that necessary? Will thought Jem had just died. Tessa’s fiance(!!) just died and within about 6 pages of her finding out they just… nope, not okay.

Favourite quotations:
“Life is a book and there are a thousand pages I have not yet read.”

““A very magnanimous statement, Gideon,” said Magnus.
“I’m Gabriel.”
Magnus waved a hand. “All Lightwoods look the same to me.”” ~ tell 2007 Magnus that.

“Men may be stronger, but it is women who endure.” ~#preach

“I don’t think you can fight because you’re wearing a wedding dress”, said Jem. “For what it’s worth, I don’t think Will could fight in that dress either.”
“Perhaps not,” said Will, who had ears like a bat’s. “But I would make a radiant bride.”

“ave atque vale” ~*sobs*

“Their oldest child, James, had spoken laughingly about Will’s unrelenting fear of ducks and his continual battle to keep them out of the pond at the family home in Yorkshire.”5-stars

Leave a Reply

